• Elders

    Our Board of Elders is called the Session. These are the spiritual leaders of the church and responsible for life and ministry at Covenant. We have nine elders who are each elected by the congregation for three-year terms and are ordained and installed by the laying on of hands. Elders at Covenant serve on one of four commissions. Elders are listed below according to their commissions and responsibilities.

    Worship Arts and Prayer

    John Dunham and Mark Rothe

    This commission is responsible for our worship services, the Worship Room, our Praise Band, for special worship events, and for Covenant’s Prayer Ministries.

    Children and Student Ministries

    Laura Barker and Nici Barrett

    Oversight of our Children’s Ministries (birth – fifth grade) and Student Ministries (middle and high school).

    Adult Discipleship

    Melissa Bannerot, John Bystroff, and Cliff Hicks

    Leadership for Covenant’s Adult Ministries, including Sunday School and mid-week classes, home groups, and outreach.


    Patrick Carrigan and Larry Schaad

    Responsible for Covenant’s grounds and building, our finances, and staff.

  • Deacons

    Covenant's Board of Deacons are the hands and feet of Jesus dedicated to service. Covenant elects and ordains twelve people by the laying on of hands for three-year terms. The deacons provide service and caring.

    • A Ministry of Caring (financial support, cards, meals, visitation)

    • Tasks of Service (Communion, baptism and Sanctuary preparation, funerals, receptions) 

    It is common to find ministry groups  caring for people as opposed to having deacons themselves meet every need. Deacons seek to match a congregational need with someone in the congregation who has the appropriate gift and talent to meet the need.

    Covenant deacons for 2022 are:

    Steve Arndt                              Anne Madsen (co-chair)

    Jody Barker                              Sandy McClure

    Brad George (chair)                 Kathy McCoy (scribe)

    Bruce Hanson                          Jan Moore

    Laura Hough                            Lynet Robinson

    Alaina Houtz                            Kathy Steiner

    Craig Houtz                          



    Need to talk to an elder or deacon?

    care@covenant-pres.org or prayer@covenant-pres.org

    or Contact the church office
    719.598.0800, office@covenant-pres.org,

"...serve one another humbly in love."

Galatians 5:13, NIV